Petition Legislate to recognise all native languages of Britain & Ireland as co-official

Lack of official status of any language leads to English being the 'de facto' official language of the UK. This absence of legislation leads to discriminatory policy, denying other indigenous languages equal status in the UK, thereby discriminating against speakers of those languages.

More details

This petition would like to see the following languages recognised as official in UK law: Scottish Gaelic, Irish Gaelic, Scots (both of Scotland and Ulster), Welsh, Cornish, Angloromani, Shelta, British Sign Language, Irish Sign Language and English.

Co-official status in law brings UK laws with linguistic focus in line with the European Convention on Human rights:

Article 5 - Right to Liberty and Security, Clause 2
Article 14 - Prohibition of Discrimination
Protocol Number 12, Article 1 - General prohibition of discrimination, Clause 1.

Sign this petition

806 signatures

Show on a map


At 10,000 signatures...

At 10,000 signatures, government will respond to this petition

At 100,000 signatures...

At 100,000 signatures, this petition will be considered for debate in Parliament

Share this petition